I Almost Died….


I’m out of the hospital now.  My wife took me to the emergency room because I wasn’t feeling well.  The E.R. Doc admitted me because of my congestive Heart Failure. As time passed, I began feeling MUCH worse. The second night, I was having a lot of trouble breathing. It’s very unsettling when you can’t even draw in a breath of air. I felt certain I was going to die at any moment. I must have struggled for half an hour before a nurse finally came in and called respiratory therapy. The therapy worked and my breathing returned to normal.

I’m old now, 73, and I’ve had a very full and rewarding life so I wouldn’t say I’d have missed much if I had died then and there.  I would say it would have been a hard death, not quick and painless, but drawn out as if I were drowning again and again.  My wife and daughter were there.  They also thought they were watching me die.

I know my time to die will come and probably soon.  I don’t fear death, but I do hope it will just be a quick one with no one watching.  I don’t want anyone to share this experience, particularly not loved ones. If God is listening, maybe he will grant this simple request. I don’t think it’s a lot to ask.

About Jim G.

I truely believe that what should matter most in life is how you see yourself, not how someone else tries to convince you to see yourself. *****Life is not about "finding yourself"*****its about creating yourself.!!!!! I write and post things here because I like to think I am contributing some things of value to my world. Some times a little humor, some times things with a more serious tone, but hopefully always in good taste. If what I post occasionally bites a politician in the ass, all the better :>)
This entry was posted in Author's Stuff, Death, Miscellaneous, My Point of View and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I Almost Died….

  1. Pete says:

    At 72 I am right behind you on the way I would like my end of the road to look like.

    Like

Comments are closed.