NOSTALGIA


Now that I’m well into my seventy first year

My walk has slowed, I cannot begin to run

This does not trouble me, I can still see and hear

The trials of my early years are now all done

From time to time I think back on those simpler days

Many fond memories linger there, as delicate as old dreams

But some things too hard to think about there stay

So I close a door on those that has no screens

Our house was small with three bedrooms

One bathroom and one car on the street

A mower you had to push the yard to groom

And when it was done the grass looked neat

In the kitchen on the wall we only had one phone,

There was no need for one of those I.D. things

Our callers were always someone well known

There were four others on the party line, we knew our rings

We only had one TV set, the picture was black and white

And for channels we had maybe one or two

We’d settle in the watch the show from the TV’s bright light

And there was always one of them worth the view

On Saturday we went to the movies for twenty five cents

Roy Rogers, Dale Evans and Gene always won their fight

Ten cent popcorn and coke as our only other expense

The good guys always won because they were in the right

This life seemed so much easier  then and much slower in some ways.

I love the new technology but I sure do miss those early days.

Time moves on and so do we and nothing stays the same,

But I sure love to reminisce and walk down memory lane.

With all today’s technology I grant that it’s a plus!

But it’s fun to look way back and say,   hey look, guys, THAT WAS US!

Well, some of us anyway.

About Jim G.

I truely believe that what should matter most in life is how you see yourself, not how someone else tries to convince you to see yourself. *****Life is not about "finding yourself"*****its about creating yourself.!!!!! I write and post things here because I like to think I am contributing some things of value to my world. Some times a little humor, some times things with a more serious tone, but hopefully always in good taste. If what I post occasionally bites a politician in the ass, all the better :>)
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.