Joys of the Self-Employed


The Canadian Taxation Office suspects a fishing boat owner of underpaying his deckhand and sends an agent to investigate.

CTO AUDITOR: “I need a list of your employees and how much you pay them”.

Boat Owner: “Well, there’s Clarence, my deckhand, he’s been with me 3 years. I pay him $1,000 a week plus free room and board.

Then there’s the mentally challenged guy. He works about 18 hours a day and does about 90% of the work. He makes about $10 a week, pays his own room and board, and I buy him a bottle of Bundaberg rum and a dozen Crown Lager Beers every Saturday night so he can cope with life. He also gets to sleep with my wife occasionally”.

ATO AUDITOR: “I want to talk to the mentally challenged guy”.

Boat Owner: “That’d be me. What’d you want to know”?

About Jim G.

I truely believe that what should matter most in life is how you see yourself, not how someone else tries to convince you to see yourself. *****Life is not about "finding yourself"*****its about creating yourself.!!!!! I write and post things here because I like to think I am contributing some things of value to my world. Some times a little humor, some times things with a more serious tone, but hopefully always in good taste. If what I post occasionally bites a politician in the ass, all the better :>)
This entry was posted in Author's Stuff. Bookmark the permalink.