Drivers License….


My neighbor was working in his yard when he  was startled by a late model car that came crashing through  his hedge and ended up in his front  lawn.

He rushed to help an elderly lady  driver out of the car and sat her down on a lawn  chair.

He said with excitement, “You appear  quite elderly to be driving.”

“Well, yes, I am,” she replied proudly.
“I’ll be 97 next month, and I am now old  enough that I don’t even need a driver’s license  anymore.”

“You don’t need a driver’s license  anymore?!?”

That’s right! The last time I went to  my doctor, he examined me and asked if I had a driver’s  license.

I told him ‘yes’ and handed it to him.  He took scissors out of the drawer,
cut the license into pieces, and threw them  in the waste basket, saying, ‘
You won’t need this anymore’.

So I thanked him and  left!”

                                                            

“Do not regret growing older. It is a  privilege denied to many.”
About Jim G.

I truely believe that what should matter most in life is how you see yourself, not how someone else tries to convince you to see yourself. *****Life is not about "finding yourself"*****its about creating yourself.!!!!! I write and post things here because I like to think I am contributing some things of value to my world. Some times a little humor, some times things with a more serious tone, but hopefully always in good taste. If what I post occasionally bites a politician in the ass, all the better :>)
This entry was posted in Author's Stuff, Life, Miscellaneous, My Point of View, Things Everyone Likes, Things I Like. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Drivers License….

  1. Unfortunately my mother (84) …… who can not remember the time of day, or what day it is … her next Dr.s appt, ….. or who her Granddaughter is … (no Mom … not a celebrity) ….. is still ” able to drive” as of her M.D.. Who are we kidding??? Are we waiting for the next fatal …. crash????? Ridiculous!!!!! She has been evaluated by a gerontologist …… but my mother won’t take her word for her eval. because she is a “women” !!!! I wish her MD would take the high road, … but he doesn’t want to “upset her”. This is a wake up call for future generations. HELP!!!!!!

    Like

Comments are closed.