A Simple Alternative To Obama Care


The ORIGINAL cost of the Obama Care website, before any additional changes were made so that it actually functioned and did what it was designed to do, was $375,000,000 give or take a million dollars or so. Such a bargain! We really should be grateful our government didn’t spend any more, however, it has been necessary to spend an additional few million to fix what didn’t work in the beginning.

Now I want to come clean right up front and admit that I don’t have a degree in mathematics, actuarial science or anything even remotely related to those fields. But let me see if I can do a little simple arithmetic here. There are approximately 316,000,000 legal inhabitants of this country and let’s just go ahead and throw in the 11,000,000 illegal aliens the government says are also here. That equals 327,000,000 people, I think. As I said, I don’t have any advanced training in this kind of thing, just my little calculator.

For the sake of argument, let’s assume that maybe I’m right up this point and press on. I believe by way of simple subtraction, that means every single man, woman and child (even the illegal aliens) could have had a million dollars for health care with change left over, and it would have cost less than the non-functioning web site.  Is that truly amazing or what? Have I dazzled you with my mathematical skill yet?

But wait, there is a flaw in this reasoning. What about the government? How does it benefit? You can’t just dole out money like this and the bloated bureaucracy not benefit in some way also. I also thought of that. Simply set up individual medical accounts, each with a million dollars in it, to pay medical charges at the federal level. That should make Washington happy because it would mean they would have yet another pool of slush funds to borrow against and could even hire more people to put on the federal payroll. All of this for less than the cost of the non-functioning web site.

 

About Jim G.

I truely believe that what should matter most in life is how you see yourself, not how someone else tries to convince you to see yourself. *****Life is not about "finding yourself"*****its about creating yourself.!!!!! I write and post things here because I like to think I am contributing some things of value to my world. Some times a little humor, some times things with a more serious tone, but hopefully always in good taste. If what I post occasionally bites a politician in the ass, all the better :>)
This entry was posted in Miscellaneous, My Point of View, Politicians, Sarcasm. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to A Simple Alternative To Obama Care

  1. Jim G. says:

    Republican and Democrat are just labels for politicians who want to identify with a particular agenda. All of them have given themselves massive entitlements for life at the expense of the American tax payer. There are almost none who have any true regard for the people who put them in office. They simply pay lip service to keep themselves at the feeding trough. That’s both the state and federal governments. I know, I’ve seen a lot of it first hand.

    Like

  2. James says:

    That is one dollar per person, soon to rise!

    >

    Like

    • Jim G. says:

      Actually, it’s one million dollars per person, soon to rise.

      Like

    • Jim G. says:

      Actually it’s one million dollars per person soon to rise.

      Like

    • Mark Luhman says:

      Actually it $1,146 dollars pers person. 375 Billion divides be 375 million work out to be about 1,146. Dont get me wrong we would have been far better off pay directly for the uninsured and the uninsurable but you and I know it ACA was not about either one of those. Instead it about power and controlling lives. After all we are to dumb to know what best for ourselves. Unfortunately that may be true for an Obama voter, to bad the ACA would only affect them.

      Like

  3. True! Actually, wanted to give everyone affordable health care, it is simple. Give them universal care, cut out all the insurance company’s. Doctors could actually do their job of being doctors instead of mathematicians and paper pushers, everyone could get decent health care and have money to invest into the economy and provide people with jobs and good wages. Like my math skills. This country is way behind the times, as well as very low on good health care outcomes. So this would work. But Congress, oh, Republican/Tea Party does not want universal care. But they have yet to actually propose an alternative except to go back to the way it was. Well, people without insurance still go to the hospital, and if they can not pay, the cost is passed on to the ones who have insurance, with high monthly premiums or high deductibles. It then also in turns drives the cost of care up which causes more people to drop their insurance and the cycle starts again. So tell me would you want ACA, Universal care or business as usual? I am not a math genius either, but I do know the outcomes.

    Like

    • Jim G. says:

      I was in the financial management end of hospital administration for almost forty years so I’m well aware of the impact of the uninsured/under insured on health care costs for hospitals and doctors. At the end of my working career I ran nine hospitals and twelve nursing homes. The point of my blog is that the whole thing especially ACA is seriously flawed. Even before ACA was ever thought of, the system struggles under the weight of so much bureaucratic regulation and red tape that its amazing that anyone gets any kind of treatment. I agree with most of what you said because of my years of trying to deal with it.

      Congress is not just the house of representatives, its both the senate and the house. I don’t fault just the Republicans either, ACA was passed in its entirety by the Democrats. Although the Republicans claim to want a smaller, less intrusive federal government, since Harry Truman was president, the Democrats and Republicans have each controlled the white house six times and the Federal government has grown EVERY year. It has never shrunk. It appears that there is never such a thing as enough government or enough taxes.

      This is not the country I grew up in and I’m glad I am old now because I am very pessimistic about the future of the country for my children and grandchildren. The direction the government is going, I don’t think they (or anyone but the ruling elite) have much of a future.

      Like

      • I agree both do carry the blame, however, the majority of the ideas in the ACA are ones the Republicans were looking at themselves. I am a disabled Elementary school teacher, worked with special needs child, so dealt with the system my whole working career. But, unlike you I am not pessimistic. On the contrary, I feel very positive. I see things changing all over this country and the world for that matter. In fact, I feel positive about my future. I can no longer work out in the “real world” but I can write and I am writing my first book. With the technology we have today, anybody can get ahead! And I know that with the ACA I can work for myself and not worry that I can not get insurance, because of a pre-existing condition. Good luck to you and your family.

        Like

    • Mark Luhman says:

      Universal care is for the stupid, cost have to be controlled some how universal care dictate it some uncariong bload berichis which in ,most of the civilised world is working out to be a disaster, you only have to look not to see that Saskatchewan requires you book a delivery room 10 month out, how they lengthen the human gestation period is a mystery to me. Hospital south of the border have a cottage industry servicing well healed Canadian whom cannot or will not wait for their free health care system to address their problem, it would seem well off Canadians do not have to wait for their health care system to kill them off. Oh by the way did it dawn on you why Canada had people dying of SARS, that was directly a response of their health care system the original infected person spent over eight hours in an emergency room waiting for treatment and got misdiagnoses and so did her son, both died and when they finally figured it out many more were infected. Yes we need to do something about pre existing conditions bur ACA and universal health care are not it. Do not blame the Republicans and they suggest has alway been fought tooth and nail by Democrats since they only thing they will accept is universal health care and the ACA was deliberately set up to fail so the only answer was universal heath care.

      Like

      • No! You are wrong on that, most everything in the ACA were taking from Republicans ideas! I also do not appreciate you calling me stupid as I do have 3 degrees. Obviously, those who call people names I do not take seriously as if that resort to that tactic they usually do not do any research to back up their claim and usually get their information from Faux News. My info comes from people who live in other countries. Who are friends of mine. I also do investigative reporting! Since obviously you do not know that I only talk to those who do not use name calling, I felt a need to answer you. However, I will not engage further. Though I do find it funny that usually it is Republicans who stoop to name calling. God Bless you, and awaken you from your sleep.

        Like

      • Mark Luhman says:

        sharonscottnlife You are stupid, education does not impart wisdom, There are two type of people the logical and the memory people. Memery people know a lot of thing and collect degrees but have no real knowledge. Memory is handy but it does not impart wisdom. I work in computers if you are like so many of the degree people I know I do not want you close to my network because all you would do is screw it up. Colleges and universities are full of such people, that cannot operate in the real world so they stay in academia and spew hate about the people whom work in the real dog eat dog world. They are also jealous since most really smart people in private industry make more money

        As far ACA being full of Republican ideas that BS has been so debunked so much it does not merit any further discussion. The reason you have to blame the Republicans is is such a turkey you beloved Democrats don’t want to admit they were the true architects of the nonfunctional colossus. Of course with you I can see you are true liberal don’t confuse with reality after all reality is the construct I create. In your world you have your reality and if you keep my blinders on reality may not intrude.

        PS I don’t watch TV. I read, there is little value in TV people speak at about thrity words a minute I can read over four hundred word a minute why would I waste my time on some elite talking head reading copy they do not understand nor comprehend at a rate ten time slower that i can take it in.

        As far as you communicating with people in other countries the left knows no borders they are the same here as in Europe and elsewhere, always pushing for an utopia the the elite dicata to the masses, it the some in the masses disagrees with the leftist utopia the left just silence them either with prison of some form or the left just take them out and shoots them.. It a political philosophy that has killed millions with it stupid ideas and the force of the state to enforce those stupid ideas.

        ACA is just another iteration of a stupid leftist ideas now it obvious it does not work of course it the opposition fault after the elitist left can do no wrong. It and like universal health care it will kill millions, that is if it allowed to live. Funny in the end with ACA passed we are going to end up with more uninsured and the rest of us going to pay move, damn that was a great fix of course that what you can expect from leftist ideas.

        If you were truly wise you would not be exposing your stupidity You are very much like our fine President as Thomas Sowell put it ” Smart Well Educated and Ignorant”.

        Like

Comments are closed.